A Big Deal

So for the last couple of years I have been putting things together to officially do something I have wanted to do since I was a kid. Something that I never knew would be a reality, but I would have dreams of all the time growing up. I always saw myself owning a boutique of some sort with home decor accessories.

As an event planner/designer, I have come across not finding exactly what my vision yields at event rental companies, so my natural attitude is to make it myself. This is where my vision for Native November came from. Create a line of home accessories that can also be used for event rentals. The face of the event industry is changing, and it is becoming less formal and more functional. I just thought I would create home items that I love, and that are practical, as well as create simple but functional items for the office or event venues. It seems crazy, but I have learned so much in the process of making this new vision a reality.

In using the network I have, I talked to people I knew who may have some insight to where to even begin. Now that is a long story and will serve as another post, but in short, I have been asked to create pillows for the SPARK! fundraiser event this Friday, and I also participated at the Corktown Neighborhood Tour last Sunday…and I even sold a pillow! This has been truly thrilling, but terrifying at the same time. But I can’t wait to see what this first collection will look like.

Here are the pillows I’ve created thus far and some patterns for the ones I am finishing up.

The one that sold!

One Comment Add yours

  1. THEY ARE BEAUTIFUL….A WOMAN OF MANY TALENTS AND GIFTS….

    Like

Leave a Reply

